founders (1).png

Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Incorporated was founded on November 12, 1922 by 7 illustrious women Mary Lou Allison Gardner Little, Dorothy Hanley Whiteside,  Vivian Irene White Marbury, Nannie Mae Gahn Johnson, Hattie Mae Annette Dulin Redford, Bessie Mae Downey Rhoades Martin, and Cubena McClure at Butler University in Indianapolis, Indiana.

The sorority became an incorporated national collegiate sorority on December 30, 1929, when a charter was granted to the Alpha chapter at Butler University. Founded in the midst of segregation, Sigma Gamma Rho is the only sorority of the four historically African-American sororities to be established on a predominately white campus. Setting a precedence that continues today, Sorors of Sigma Gamma Rho remain steadfast in their efforts to remove barriers and inequalities through civic service, education, and community outreach as indicated by the sorority's international slogan "Greater Service, Greater Progress".


From seven young educators, Sigma Gamma Rho has become an international service organization comprised of women from every profession and diverse backgrounds. Sigma Gamma Rho offers its members opportunities to develop their unique talents through leadership training and involvement in sorority activities. Sorority activities provide an atmosphere where friendships and professional contacts are developed which often lead to bonds that last a lifetime.


Soaring to greater heights of attainment around the world, Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc., as a leading national service organization, has met the challenges of the day and continues to grow through Sisterhood, Scholarship and Service.

Quick Facts


November 12, 1922

at Butler University, Indianapolis, Indiana



December 30, 1929

Five Regions 

Central, Northeastern, Southeastern, Southwestern, Western 


Sorority Slogan

 "Greater Service, Greater Progress"


Sorority Colors

Royal Blue and Gold


Sorority Flower

Yellow tea rose


Sorority Mascot

The Poodle


National Website